The College of Modern Montessori
Guide · Updated July 2026

How to become a Montessori teacher in South Africa

Everything you need to decide: the qualifications that count, what NQF level means in practice, what every South African provider charges, how long it takes, and the questions to ask before you pay anyone.

Montessori teacher training students

To become a Montessori teacher in South Africa you need a Montessori teacher training diploma from an accredited institution — typically 12 to 24 months of study covering Montessori philosophy, the didactic materials, classroom leadership and a supervised teaching practicum. Fees at accredited South African providers range from about R53 000 to R90 000. If you want the qualification to be recognised for employment in the formal early childhood sector, the provider must hold South African accreditation through a SETA or the QCTO — not international Montessori accreditation alone.

This guide explains the routes, what each qualification actually gets you, what it costs, and the questions that most often trip people up.

What qualifications do you need to teach Montessori in South Africa?

There are two separate things being accredited, and confusing them is the most common and most expensive mistake prospective students make.

The Montessori accreditation certifies that the training itself meets international Montessori standards. The two bodies that matter are MACTE (the Montessori Accreditation Council for Teacher Education, based in the United States) and AMI (the Association Montessori Internationale, founded by Maria Montessori herself). A course with neither is not, in any meaningful sense, recognised Montessori training.

The South African qualification determines whether your certificate is registered on the National Qualifications Framework and therefore counts for employment, further study and professional registration. This comes from accreditation by a SETA (for early childhood education, the ETDP SETA) or the QCTO, and results in a qualification with a SAQA ID and an NQF level.

You want both. Many South African providers hold one and not the other.

South African Montessori teacher training providers, as published by each provider at July 2026.
ProviderMontessori accreditationSouth African qualification
College of Modern Montessori
Linbro Park & Gillitts
MACTE — Early Childhood since 1995; Elementary I to 2032ETDP SETA — SAQA ID 64650 (Learning Programme 23118), NQF 5, 240 credits
Montessori Centre South AfricaNone statedETDP SETA — SAQA ID 64650 (Learning Programme 23118), NQF 5
Montessori Early Learning FoundationSAMA memberETDP SETA — SAQA ID 97542, NQF 4; also National Diploma NQF 5
Indaba InstituteAMINot stated
First Children Training CenterAMINot stated

Ask any provider two questions before you pay: what is the SAQA ID of the qualification I will receive, and which body accredits the Montessori component. If they cannot answer both in one sentence, keep looking.

What NQF level is a Montessori diploma?

The most common accredited outcome is NQF Level 5 — the National Diploma in Early Childhood Development Practice, SAQA ID 64650, Learning Programme 23118, 240 credits. Some courses lead to NQF Level 4 instead (SAQA ID 97542, 131 credits), which is a lower level with fewer credits and opens fewer doors.

The difference matters. NQF 5 is a diploma-level qualification; NQF 4 sits at Matric level. If you intend to run a classroom, lead a preschool, or eventually progress toward a B.Ed, you want the Level 5 route. Check the SAQA ID on the prospectus, not the marketing copy.

How long does Montessori teacher training take?

RouteStudy patternTypical total
Full-timeOne academic year of lectures and teaching practice, plus a six-month research project1–2 years
Part-timeOne to two academic years plus the research project; minimum two hours a day of independent study18–30 months
OnlineOne to two academic years plus the research project18–30 months
Distance (non-accredited)Entirely self-paced, no fixed dates12 months to 3 years

Full-time study means weekday attendance on campus — at the College of Modern Montessori that is lectures on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday from 08:30 to 14:30, with teaching practice on Wednesdays and Fridays. Part-time and online routes are designed for people already working, often as assistants in a Montessori classroom, which can also satisfy part of the practicum requirement.

How much does Montessori teacher training cost in South Africa?

Accredited Montessori teacher training in South Africa costs between roughly R53 000 and R90 000 depending on the provider, the age range and the accrediting body.

Fees as published by each provider at July 2026. Compare like with like — some figures are tuition only.
ProviderCourseFee
College of Modern MontessoriFull-time diploma (2½–6)R73 000
College of Modern MontessoriPart-time or online diploma (2½–6)R63 000
College of Modern MontessoriLower Elementary diploma (6–9)R63 000
College of Modern MontessoriDistance course (non-accredited)R24 000
Montessori Centre South AfricaNational Diploma (all-in)R53 400
Indaba InstituteAMI Primary 3–6 diplomaR69 500
First Children Training CenterAMI 6–12 diplomaR90 000

Compare the total, not the headline. Some published fees are tuition only, with registration, examination, apparatus and practicum charged separately. The College of Modern Montessori's fees include textbooks in eBook format, teaching manuals, examinations and certification, with one additional compulsory cost — the $240 MACTE student registration fee. There are no separate exam fees, no apparatus levy and no graduation charge. See the full fee schedule and payment plans.

Can you study Montessori teaching online in South Africa?

Yes — and online study can carry exactly the same accreditation as on-campus study. MACTE's public record lists “more than 50% online” among The College of Modern Montessori's accredited delivery modes, so the online diploma leads to the same qualification as the full-time route. It is not entirely remote, though: MACTE requires a minimum number of face-to-face hours, so every online student attends an in-house block in person — Johannesburg in November, or Cape Town in June and September.

A supervised teaching practicum is still required regardless of delivery mode — you cannot become a Montessori teacher without time in a Montessori classroom. Teaching practice and ten observation days are arranged near where you live, with at least three field supervisor visits during the practicum. If you are studying from outside South Africa you may complete the practicum at a Montessori school near you, provided the school is approved by the College first — we check that it is running an authentic Montessori programme before your hours count towards the diploma.

Can you register with SACE as a Montessori teacher?

SACE — the South African Council for Educators — maintains the register of professional educators, and its registration criteria are published on the SACE website. Registration requirements depend on the qualification you hold and the setting you intend to teach in, and they are determined by SACE rather than by any training provider.

What we can tell you plainly is what our diploma is: an ETDP SETA-accredited National Diploma in Early Childhood Development Practice at NQF Level 5, SAQA ID 64650, Learning Programme 23118, 240 credits. If SACE registration is important to your plans, speak to the Registrar before you enrol and check the current criteria directly with SACE — and be cautious of any provider who gives you a blanket assurance without reference to your specific circumstances.

Where can you train to teach Montessori at primary level?

Montessori elementary training is far scarcer in South Africa than early childhood training. Most providers train only for the 3–6 age group. MACTE's public register shows the College of Modern Montessori holding Elementary I accreditation through 17 June 2032 — the only such accreditation held by a South African institution. Entry requires an existing Montessori 3–6 qualification. See the Lower Elementary diploma.

What can you do with a Montessori teaching diploma?

Graduates work as Montessori Directors and Directresses in Montessori classrooms, progress from assistant to lead teacher, and move into preschool leadership. A large number go on to open their own schools — it is the most common ambition our students arrive with, and we lecture comprehensively on how to do it.

MACTE-accredited training is recognised by Montessori schools internationally, and schools and childcare agencies around the world approach the College directly for qualified directresses. Recognition for formal teacher registration in another country is decided by that country's education authority, so check the specific requirements wherever you are planning to go.

Choosing a Montessori teacher training college: a checklist

  1. What is the SAQA ID and NQF level of the qualification? No clear answer, no enrolment.
  2. Who accredits the Montessori component — MACTE, AMI, or nobody?
  3. Is the accreditation current? Both MACTE and SAQA publish searchable records. Check them.
  4. What exactly does the fee include? Get it itemised in writing before you pay a deposit.
  5. How is the teaching practicum arranged, and who supervises it?
  6. Who teaches the course, and what are their own Montessori qualifications?
  7. What age range does the diploma cover? A 3–6 diploma does not qualify you to teach 6–9.
  8. What is the pass rate? MACTE-accredited programmes must maintain at least 70%.

Training with the College of Modern Montessori

The College of Modern Montessori has trained Montessori teachers in South Africa since 1989, and has held MACTE accreditation continuously since 1995 — the longest-standing MACTE accreditation in the country. It is also accredited by the ETDP SETA, awarding the National Diploma in Early Childhood Development Practice (SAQA ID 64650, Learning Programme 23118, NQF Level 5, 240 credits).

Courses run at the Linbro Park campus in Sandton and the Gillitts campus in KwaZulu-Natal — full-time, part-time, online or by distance. Students complete their teaching practicum in real Montessori classrooms, including our own schools.

What qualifications do you need to teach Montessori in South Africa?

You need a Montessori teacher training diploma from an accredited institution. Two separate accreditations matter: a Montessori accreditation (MACTE or AMI) that certifies the training meets international Montessori standards, and a South African accreditation (through a SETA or the QCTO) that puts the qualification on the National Qualifications Framework with a SAQA ID and an NQF level. You want both.

What NQF level is a Montessori diploma?

The most common accredited outcome is NQF Level 5 — the National Diploma in Early Childhood Development Practice, SAQA ID 64650, Learning Programme 23118, 240 credits. Some courses lead to NQF Level 4 instead (SAQA ID 97542, 131 credits), which is a lower level with fewer credits. Check the SAQA ID before enrolling anywhere.

How much does Montessori teacher training cost in South Africa?

Accredited Montessori teacher training in South Africa costs between roughly R53 000 and R90 000, depending on the provider, the age range and the accrediting body. Compare the total payable from application to graduation, not the headline fee — some providers publish tuition only, with registration, examination, apparatus and practicum costs charged separately.

Do you need Matric to study Montessori teaching?

At the College of Modern Montessori you must be at least 18 and hold a matriculation certificate or equivalent. Applicants without matric are not automatically excluded: you will be interviewed to determine possible exemption and assessed to establish whether your educational level is high enough for the academic phase of the course. Many people assume they are disqualified and never ask — it is worth asking.

Written by Olivia Darby, Director of Studies. Last updated 29 July 2026.

Chat with us